Plant Burgers and Hunger.

My experience preparing for Food Bloggers Against Hunger left me feeling out of sorts. I’ve struggled over the past days to figure out what I wanted to say about the rest of my family’s experience eating for the week on an insufficient food budget similar to what those on snap in the US or on income assistance in Canada. I’m still not sure how I want to respond, I have certainly come to appreciate the vast changes that are needed in our country to ensure that everyone has access to nutritious food to feed their families, I have made some commitments about how I plan to assist those who need increased access and have become deeply grateful for the food I am able to secure to feed my family. Lastly, I have become further convinced of the importance of reducing meat consumption and that there is a connection between meat consumption and world hunger.

I believe strongly that change needs to begin at home. I have been reducing meat consumption from my home slowly but surely however admittedly have had some struggles and some down right unappealing meals…my husband still shudders at the thought of the lentil concoction I tried to get us to eat about a month ago!

We are however moving forward, my husband’s tolerance for meatless meals is increasing, so too is toddlers veggie intake. She wasn’t the biggest fan of green food…cucumbers are now a favourite.

With that I give you our first foray into meatless burgers. I used thisrecipe as a jumping off point.

Combine flax and water and set aside.

Next water sauté 1/2 diced onion and two cloves of garlic. Once done add to a large bowl and start incorporating the remainder of the ingredients: oat flour, crunched brown rice crisps, grated carrots, black sesame seeds, black beans, almonds, sunflower seeds, coconut aminos, steak spice, and mustard powder.

Combine the ingredients really well then add flax which should now be a bit gelatinous.

Form into patties and bake at 350 for about 10 minutes per side. According to the original recipe you could also pan fry them, or grill them after baking.

I ate one burger straight out of the oven and then froze the remainder to grill for supper later this week.

20130423-094944.jpg

Plant Burgers

2.5 Tbsp ground flax plus 1/2 cup water
1/2 chopped onion
2 minced cloves of garlic
1 cups oats processed into flour
1 1/2 cups crunched brown rice crisps
3 grated carrots
1/4 cup black sesame seeds
1/2 cup chopped almonds
1 cup sunflower seeds
1 Tbsp coconut aminos
2 Tbsp Montreal steak spice
1 tsp dry mustard powder

Enjoy!

3 thoughts on “Plant Burgers and Hunger.

    • Oh yes…brown rice crisps are just brown rice crispies. You could use plain rice crispies or the original recipe called for breadcrumbs. I didn’t have any so I use crispies and it turned out great. They didn’t get soggy, a big plus in my mind!

  1. Not only a great looking recipe, but some really important points on the connection between meat consumption and world hunger. If we all can eat less (or no) meat hopefully the world will use more of the grain production towards feeding people instead of feeding animals to then feed to people. An important topic and your blog is definitely inspiring! Cheers, Gina

Leave a Reply

