Fernie Pictures and Organic Finds

We finally arrived home late last night after a really long twelve hour drive home. The roads were really stormy for quite a bit of the ride home and the kids were getting really tired so we had to make quite a few stops. We had a great trip. Here are a few neat pictures from our trip and some of the great finds from Fernie…as it turns out this little town is really natural and real food friendly.

There are some neat things on the drive up to Fernie.

Here is a limber pine that is seven centuries old.

20130111-123329.jpg

All these rocks are covering a town. In 1903 the surface of the mountain came down crushing the town below killing over 70 people. When you drive through you can really get a sense of the size of the boulders. There is also a historical site that replays the events of what is now called Frank’s Slide.

20130111-122944.jpg

Here’s the worlds biggest truck in Sparwood BC.

20130111-123508.jpg

This is the ski hill in Fernie.

20130111-123541.jpg

Here’s the view from the balcony of the town house we stayed in.

20130111-123633.jpg

I was really surprised at the number of organic options in Fernie. Both local grocery stores had large organic selections. There was also an organic/ natural food co-op, an organic market, three organic restaurants, the hair salons I went to used 100% vegan, sulfate and paraben free styling products from a line called Surface, the local book store had a large selection of books about sustainable living, and they had a thrift store.

Here are some of the things I got at the organic market and co-op.

20130111-124535.jpg

I am most excited about the sprouted spelt flour and the local raw honey. There was also a cheese shop where I purchased an organic raw milk cheese that was awesome!

Here’s the jacket a bought for fifteen dollars at the Salvation Army. I also got two new skirts, some toys for the kids and a toddlers bible. The bible they gave me for free. Two of the buttons on the jacket just need to be sewed back on. Cute isn’t it?

20130111-125104.jpg

Lastly I picked up the classic book Diet for a Small Planet by Frances Moore Lappe. I will be sure to let you know what I think when I am done reading.

We had such a great trip. There are so many fun things to do in Fernie. Now I just have to unpack and do a mountain of laundry.

Anyone been to Fernie? What’s your favourite thing about the small mountain town?

3 thoughts on “Fernie Pictures and Organic Finds

  1. Welcome home! Oh my gosh that coat is wonderful, and I adore Thrift Stores. And they threw in the toddlers bible? How sweet! I am sure you will enjoy that book, I had a copy years ago but lent it and well… I do want to go to Fernie and now even more so. I only live across the Rockies, so will have to make the drive someday.
    Blessings, Gina

Leave a Reply

