Happy New Year, A Trip and Recipe

Happy New Year!

Wow have we been busy being sick! We were sick all through out the holiday season hence my absence from blogging. Mama was too busy taking care of hubby and the littles. We are finally turning a corner just in time for our trip! We are leaving tomorrow headed for Fernie, BC. From where we are in Saskatchewan it is going to take us roughly 8 to 9 hours. This will be our first big trip with both girls. Neither of the girls are great travellers so we are either two very patient or crazy parents.

We will be staying on the Mountain in a condo with a full kitchen so I hope that we will be able to keep to eating clean and healthy. The biggest obstacle is the drive so I have been carefully planning snacks that will travel well. I have planned a lot of snacks so that we aren’t tempted to purchase foods at rest stops as gas stations don’t necessarily have the kinds of foods we want and are expensive.

Here’s what I have packed.

20130104-160027.jpg

The small blue lidded containers are filled with apples and either peanut butter fluff or yogurt fruit dip. (recipes below). I also have jars with veggies and dip…the dip is just veganaise, dill and my homemade lemon powder.

There are also little animal containers that are one of the most awesome children’s product I’ve found in awhile. They are called Squooshis and are reusable food pouches. They are holding greek yogurt.

A few of the purchased convenience foods for the girls include Heinz Little Kids pouches, while they are not organic they don’t contain sugar, fillers, salt or artificial colours or flavours. They are also gluten free. I thought that these were a good alternative to fresh fruit.

Other fruit products include unsweetened apple sauce and tropical fruit packed in fruit juice. These are really popular with my little ones as occasional snacks. I usually make my own applesauce. They also like cheese. They usually have shredded but for our trip I got cheese strings. I just made sure they were real cheese ones.

I packed a few treats for me and hubby including chocolate raisins and macaroons. I’m sure a few of these will get sent to the back seat.

Lastly but not pictured are dried fruit and nuts, baked tortillas chips and salsa, extra fresh fruit, air popped corn and the rice crispy treats I plan on making tonight.

I think that we should have a lot of good snacks to last us the eight or so hours we will be travelling. Any extra food will be used throughout the trip as quick snacks on the mountain.

Peanut Butter Fluff

1 cup Heavy Whipping Cream
1 packet stevia
1 tbsp Vanilla
1/4 cup nut only nut butter (we used peanut)

Combine whipping cream, stevia, and vanilla in a bowl and beat with mixer until it turns into whipped cream. Mix in nut butter. Use it on waffles, as a dip for fruit and celery.

Yogurt Fruit Dip

1 cup heavy whipping cream
1 packet stevia
1 tbsp vanilla
1/2 cup fruit yogurt

Combine whipping cream, stevia and vanilla in a bowl and beat with mixer until it turns into whipped cream. Fold in yogurt. This dip is great with fresh fruit.

Enjoy!

2 thoughts on “Happy New Year, A Trip and Recipe

  1. I’m a wee bit late to wish you well for the trip, so I’ll say that I hope it went well! I am sure it did. I love your packed bins, and thanks for sharing such great tips of foods that travel well. I am also visualizing these for casual hikes, bike rides, and picnics! Well once our Canadian summer returns that is. 😉 I am sure your time with the family in Fernie was awesome. Cheers! Gina

    • Ahh, thanks for the well wishes Gina. We are still here and having an awesome time. Fernie has a ton of natural organic food stores and restaurants. The whole town is very real food and health friendly. I am planning a post of our trip and all my really neat finds. As much as I love winter I too am ready for things to warm up a bit!

Leave a Reply

