Bread Bag Tutorial

20121204-091438.jpg

Our church is having a seniors luncheon for the holidays and I volunteered to make some baked goods for door prizes. The first thing I thought I would make is a loaf of home baked bread but while good it’s kind of boring. So I whipped up one of these cute bread bags to put it in. The best part is it can be reused once the bread is gone.

Here’s how I did it. I’m going to call this a tutorial of sorts because I just started sewing and have certainly never done a tutorial before. So bear with me.

First you want to cut out four squares of material. Two for the outer portion of the bag and two for the lining. There are several options for lining. You could just use a cotton broad cloth because its just bread going in there, for a more waterproof option you could use PUL or Ripstop you just want to make sure what you are using is food safe. Do your research and find a product that will be safe for you and the intended recipient. I am using Ripstop.

I cut my material 21 inches long and 11 inches wide. I think next time I would make it a bit wider just to make sure a really high loaf would fit.

20121204-092048.jpg

20121204-092109.jpg

Next lay the two pieces of outside material together right sides facing in like in the above picture. Sew the pieces together leaving one of the width sides open. Essentially you want to make a bag.

Repeat with the lining.

Take the outside material which should still be inside out and working one side at a time pinch the corners and lay them flat. Sew across about two inches in. This will give the bag a bit of body.

20121204-092819.jpg

Turn both bags right side out. Stuff the lining inside the outside and turn both bags inside out.

20121204-092946.jpg

Turn down the hem around the opening twice so the raw edge is hidden and pin.

20121204-093024.jpg

Sew using a straight stitch. Turn the bag right side out and you have a bread bag. Fasten with a snap or a tie.

20121204-093121.jpg

Feel free to ask any questions because I’m sure something could probably be clearer.

Enjoy!

Sharing at
Growing Home, , ,

3 thoughts on “Bread Bag Tutorial

  1. What a great idea – I hadn’t thought of doing it this way before. Gotta put this on my “to-try” list. I see you used a clip for closure – I wonder how hard it would be to add a string to tie it, since I don’t have any of those clips? I bet it wouldn’t be that hard.

    • I think that it would be fairly easy to add a string to the bag…I’m just not sure exactly how. I just started sewing and am teaching myself through patterns and online. It sure is fun to learn how to make things. I will have to try and figure out how to do it. Let me know if you figure it out before I do!

      • actually, looking at your photo, I think I’ve got an idea. I just need to go make one and see if I actually do have it figured out, though. šŸ˜†

Leave a Reply

