Apple Carrot Berry Sauce

My littles love apple sauce. I usually just buy the unsweetened at the store but then I got to thinking that it would be really easy to make it instead. Right now is really good timing because apples are on sale. I bought three pounds of organic apples for under 4 dollars. Here is my version of applesauce.

Gather and chop you ingredients. I added apples which were cored and quartered. Organic celery heart that was peeled to remove any stringy bits. Purple carrots chopped and half a bag of organic frozen strawberries. I put all of these into my crock pot with the zest and juice of half a small organic lemon.

20121120-072640.jpg

I put the crockpot on low for eight hours. I then let the mix cool and puréed in my blender.

20121120-072824.jpg

Apple Carrot Berry Sauce

8 apples cored and quartered
6 stalks celery peeled and chopped
4 medium carrots chopped
250 grams frozen or fresh strawberries
zest and juice of half a lemon

Enjoy!

Sharing at Melt in your Mouth Monday, Homestead Barn Hop, Whole Foods Wednesday
Growing Home

3 thoughts on “Apple Carrot Berry Sauce

  1. Oh my goodness, you have lucky kids! Those purple carrots and strawberries give the applesauce such a gorgeous color, and I bet the kiddos won’t even know how “extra good” it is for them! We make homemade applesauce too, and it’s infinitely tastier than store-bought.

    Just wondering if there is any way to follow or subscribe to your blog? I found you through Melt in Your Mouth Monday. Come visit if you’d like:
    http://mindofthemother.blogspot.com/

    Danielle

    • Hi Danielle,

      Thanks for stopping by. I’m going to do some looking into the whole following thing. I’m pretty new to blogging so I’m still figuring everything out. I just took a peek at your blog and can tell I’m going to have a great time looking through your archives!

Leave a Reply

