Venison Jerky

As I mentioned in my meal plan hubby brought home about 30 pounds of fresh deer meat from a coworker. That’s a lot of deer meat. The great thing about wild meat is that it is so lean and the great thing about homemade jerky is that you can control the salt. Here’s my version of venison jerky. I’m not super briefed on paleo eating but from other sources I’ve looked at I think that this would fit with that, if that’s your thing. If that is your thing let me know if I’m wrong.

I started by cutting thin strips of venison of what was labeled fry meat. You could also do this with beef. The best way I found of doing this was to butterfly each piece and cut it in two, then butterfly those two pieces and cut them in two and so on until the pieces were the size I was looking for. Here’s a pic of the pieces.

20121105-192258.jpg

I then added the pieces to the mixed marinade and let it sit overnight (Recipe below). The next day I put the strips into my dehydrator, set it on 140 and dehydrated until the meat was no longer wet on the inside. This took about eight hours. Here’s what it looked like when it was done.

20121105-192559.jpg

Venison or Beef Jerky

1/4 cup coconut aminos (soy free seasoning sauce)
1 tsp smoked sea salt
1 Tbsp cracked black pepper
1/2 cup puréed fresh or frozen pineapple
1 large garlic clove minced
1 tsp fresh ginger
1 tsp blackstrap molasses
2 Tbsp Sucanat

Enjoy!

Sharing at Homestead Barn Hop,
Growing Home

Leave a Reply

