Fruit Yogurt

20121105-130701.jpg

Last night I used some extra milk to make some homemade fruit yogurt. I’ve never made yogurt before so I was a bit apprehensive but it worked. Here’s how I did it.

I heated 2 litres of milk on the stove. I don’t have a thermometer so I heated it until it was in that foamy stage that milk gets just before it’s going to boil. If you have a thermometer you want it at 185.

I then added two tablespoons of coconut sugar and a tablespoon of vanilla. I let it cool until it was about the same temp I use for proofing yeast quite warm but not hot. You want it at 110.

Then I mixed in two heaping tablespoons of live culture yogurt. I put the whole mixture into my crockpot which I had heating on medium. I turned it off, covered it with a big beach towel and went to bed.

The next morning I woke up and put a big bunch of frozen berries on the stove with half a cup of coconut sugar, two tablespoons lemon juice, two tablespoons cornstarch and half a cup of water. I brought it to a boil, let it thicken then poured it into my jars. I let it cool a bit then put my yogurt on top, cooled the whole jar in the fridge until it was set.

This yogurt was seriously good.

Here’s a great post about making yogurt that I used to get me going.

Have you ever made homemade yogurt?

2 thoughts on “Fruit Yogurt

    • You really should. It’s actually quite easy and the results are good. We like our yogurt sweetened and I think that the next time I might use honey as the sweetener and add a bit more.

Leave a Reply

