Black Bean and Cheddar Biscuits

Soups on the menu tonight. I was originally going to take out a cabbage borscht I had made a few weeks ago but instead I decided on the left over Cream of Tomato Soup I had made last week. When heating it up I added in some puréed roasted red pepper and made these black bean and cheddar biscuits to go with it.

20121102-174815.jpg

Black Bean and Cheddar Biscuits

1 1/2 cup unbleached flour
1/2 cup black bean flour
1 Tbsp baking powder
1 tsp salt
1 cup cheddar
1/2 cup lard
1/2- 3/4 cup cold milk

First you will need to make your black bean flour or you can buy it. It’s cheap and easy to make though. I started by dry roasting the beans at 400 for twenty minutes. I’d say I had about 2 cups of beans. Then working in two batches I placed the cooled beans into my blender and turned on the crush ice feature for thirty seconds. Once crushed I used the highest setting and blended for thirty seconds at a time until the beans had turned into a gritty flour.

Once the flour is prepared add it to your unbleached flour, baking powder and salt. Mix. Cut in your lard with a fork or pastry cutter. Mix in the cheese. Add your milk. Start with half a cup and add more until you have a dough that will stick together. Form into a ball and refrigerate for 30 mins.

Roll out your ball so it is a 1 1/2 inch thick circle. Cut the circle into eight triangles. Place triangles on a parchment lined sheet. Bake at 400 for about fifteen- twenty minutes.

These biscuits have a nice almost spicy flavour.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

