Laundry Care

As I started becoming more interested in healthful, clean eating I started looking into the other areas of our life that may not be so “clean”. Here I was spending time and money to ensure that the foods we were consuming were free of extra junk like pesticides, refined sugars, artificial stuff etc…but I had overlooked the way I was bringing chemicals and other harmful ingredients into our home through ironically the products I was using to clean my home.

So for sometime I have been making my own laundry detergent. I could certainly purchase a product that was free of ingredients that are either harmful to my family or to the environment. However I don’t have $23.79 to spend every 66 loads to purchase the leading eco friendly brand. I do however have $5 to spend for every 200 loads and the 10 minutes to spend making my own.

Here’s how I do it.

I start with a bar of Castile Soap, a cup of washing soda and a half cup of borax. For a good post on the use of borax click here.

20121101-143705.jpg

I use a cheese grater to grate the Castile soap. This time I used Dr Bronner’s peppermint which I purchased at my local food co-op for three dollars. This soap also comes in a mild baby non scented version which is great if you have skin sensitivities.

20121101-143907.jpg

I then pour a kettle of boiling water over the soap and let it sit for twenty minutes or until the soap is dissolved. Once dissolved I pour the soap into a 22 litre bucket and fill it half way full of hot water. I then mix in the washing soda and borax. I use Eco Pioneer which I purchase here.. I like this brand because of their method of processing their products and because a dollar from every product purchased goes to support not for profit environmental charity. Once washing soda and borax are encorporated I fill the bucket the rest of the way.

20121101-144613.jpg

I let this mixture sit overnight. It will thicken up quite a bit. Not sure if you can tell the difference but here is what it looks like the next day.

20121101-144910.jpg

I pour it into recycled containers and it is ready to go.

20121101-145010.jpg

For each load I use about half a cup. I wash on cold and add about a cup of vinegar to the rinse. This works great and I have never had a problem with the clothes not coming out clean. The only issue I have ever had is when I had used an unscented soap. My husband’s hockey towels were not as fresh smelling as he would have enjoyed.

Anyone else tried making there own laundry soap? How do you make yours?

2 thoughts on “Laundry Care

Leave a Reply

