Chicken Pot Pie (meal five)

Finally meal five is here. In case you missed the other posts I had purchased a natural chicken (grass fed free range) for about twenty dollars. At that price I was determined to make the most of this chicken and challenged myself to make five healthy filling meals from that one chicken. So far we’ve enjoyed roast chicken, chicken sandwiches, chicken soup, chicken tacos and now chicken pot pie.

Here’s how I made it. Place coconut oil, onion and carrot over medium high heat. Add salt and pepper to your taste. Cook until the veg has had a chance to soften.

20121024-182915.jpg

Put in you chicken and any seasonings you want. The carrots I used are so wonderfully sweet I wanted to let their flavour shine so I opted to keep things simple and added only half a clove of garlic. Once the chicken and garlic has mingled with the veg push the ingredients to the sides and make a quick roux of butter, coconut flour and WW flour. Add your stock and simmer to thicken. Throw in a handful of frozen corn and frozen peas.

20121024-183558.jpg

Transfer the mix to a baking dish and cover with pastry. I was going to make a pie crust but me and the gals were too busy playing outside.

20121025-084845.jpg

So it got a sheet of puff pastry I had kicking around in the freezer. I baked it for 30 mins at 350. Here’s our finished meal.

20121025-085013.jpg

Chicken Pot Pie

Coconut Oil
1 cup chopped carrot
1 small- med onion
2 cup diced cooked chicken
Seasonings to taste ( I used salt, pepper and garlic)
2 Tbsp butter
2 Tbsp ww flour
1 1/2 cup chicken stock
Handful each of frozen peas and corn
Pastry of choice to cover ( I used puff)

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

