Dehydrator Carrot Cake Granola

I am really in love with Love Crunch Carrot Cake granola. The only problem beside the price, which isn’t too bad, is that it contains soy. We as a rule try to avoid soy. Last night I was on a bit of a mission to recreate this crunchy bunch of deliciousness. First it was late, if you call nine pm late, so I didn’t want to have to wait around for it to cook in the oven. Enter the dehydrator. Second, I wasn’t about to run out to the store so I had to use what I had on hand. For my first attempt at granola I would say that I had some serious success cause this granola is awesome!

Here’s what I did. I will post the recipe at the bottom.

Finely grate two to four carrots. You want about a cup. Here’s my carrots. I bought these from the sweetest lady at the farmers market. She always gives my girls a kiss on their forehead when we come for her lovingly packaged veggies.

20121016-100015.jpg

Next chop up one cup of dates and soak them in water for two hours. Drain water and purée the dates. Alternatively you can put the dates in a saucepan and cover with water. Turn it on medium heat and cook until it forms a jam like consistency. ( I went with the saucepan- soak if you want the recipe to be raw) This will be your date paste. Add the date paste and the remainder of the ingredients. Mix.

20121016-111257.jpg

Spread the granola out on your dehydrator trays and dehydrate at 120 overnight. Sorry forgot to take picture of this step. Here’s what the granola looks like when it is done. I stored mine in my brand new freshly made reusable Baggie and a mason jar.

20121016-113240.jpg

Carrot Cake Granola

1 cup finely grated carrot
1 cup old fashion rolled oats
1 cup spelt flakes
1 cup puffed rice
1 cup puffed wheat
1/2 cup raisins
1/2 cup chopped pecans
1 cup date paste
1 cup crushed fresh pineapple
1/4 cup agave nectar
1/4 cup coconut oil
1 tsp cinnamon
1/2 tsp ginger
1 Tbsp vanilla

Enjoy!

One thought on “Dehydrator Carrot Cake Granola

Leave a Reply

