A Grandma’s Wisdom – Dish Soap

I have been looking for a recipe for homemade dish soap that is natural, made with easily accessible ingredients and most importantly effective. I have tired numerous concoctions online with no real success. I was just about to cave and order an expensive manufactured soap that scored well on the Environmental Working Group website when I thought that I should call my grandmother and ask her what they used before they had commercial brands widely available. The answer she gave me is so simple I don’t know why I never thought of it before. Sometimes I think it is so easy for us to look things up online that we forget that there is a whole generation of information with our elders, all we need to do is ask. Anyway I digress. The answer she gave me was soap. They would grate pure soap and use the powder. Well I tried it today using the pure soap flakes I had purchased for my laundry detergent and it worked awesome. I had two popcorn bowls with melted butter, a measuring cup with coconut oil, and a fry pan with egg bits and they all came out clean, non greasy clean!

Thanks to Granny or as little one calls her GG our family can feel comfortable that we are not leaving chemicals on our dishes or draining them down our sink.

Leave a Reply

