One Chicken- Five Meals

20121008-072921.jpg

Hmm…something seems to be missing from this picture, oh yes the chicken of course. I was so excited to show off my heirloom carrots (the yellow ones) and my golden beets that I forgot to take a picture of the chicken. The chicken was a natural bird which simply means that they are allowed to roam penned with lots of room and have access to organic feed and fresh water. This is versus a free range chicken who are allow to pasture and eat a diet of grass and bugs. Anyways anyone who knows about natural and free range chickens knows they can be expensive, up to 20 some dollars a bird. With that in mind I wanted to make sure that I made the most of the chicken.

Meal One

We enjoyed a roasted chicken last night with the above pictured veggies and a bean and cabbage concoction that honestly we didn’t really enjoy. I am still trying to learn more beans dishes. Anyone with good bean recipes please share I’m sure my husband will thank you for it!

My goal for this chicken is to turn it into five healthy filling meals. Seeing how I don’t want to eat chicken every night this week I have picked the bird clean and frozen the meat into sensible portions and I have the bones working on a homemade bone broth in the crockpot. For the remainder of the five meal challenge you will need to stay tune over the next two weeks.

Delicious Roast Chicken and Veggies

4-5 Carrots cut in chunks
1 Onion cut in chunks
3-4 Cloves garlic smashed and peeled
2 Golden beets peeled and cut into chunks
1 Whole chicken (the highest quality you can afford)
1 Mug water or broth

Put all the veggies in the bottom of your pan. I used an enamelled cast iron pan, if you had a true cast iron pan that would be best- in keeping with being all natural and whatnot. Put the chicken on top, season to your delight for us that meant applewood smoked sea salt and pepper. Cook at 350 for an hour and a half or so or until the juice runs clear. I cover it for the first hour then uncover it for the last half hour. Enjoy!

One thought on “One Chicken- Five Meals

Leave a Reply

